World's Oldest Fledgling

The blog of Stephanie Wardrop, Y A Author

The fledgling takes flight: my first year as a “real” writer

on December 24, 2013

320px-Bird_in_flight_line_drawing_artWhen I started this blog a little over a year ago, I named it for what I felt like: the world’s oldest fledgling. Here I was, an acknowledged grownup, a degreed professional, but as a writer I was just starting to peek out of the nest.  I knew that as a soon-to-be published author I should have a platform to (ick!) promote myself, my book, my “brand”, but I felt like creating a blog for a book and a career that did not yet officially exist would be the height of hubris. Surely the publishing gods would smite me down for such presumption. But a year later, here I am.  Bird_Nest_in_Tree

It’s been an amazing year of milestones. First book birthday. First cover reveal. First reviews. First Facebook “like” on the author page that could not be traced back to family, friends, friends of family or friends, or former students. Swoon Romance has published three of the four e-novellas in the Snark and Circumstance series and accepted the sequel. I still feel like a fledgling, but I suspect I always will. There’s always so much more to learn, to do, to become.

So in the spirit of growth, I’m signing off from this blog and inaugurating a new “big girl blog” at stephaniewardrop.com in January. First, I’ll post a series of pep talks, advice, and shared experience for those who are going to make 2014 the year they become “real” writers. After that I’ll have reviews (can’t wait to talk Allegiant), pop culture analyses like those on my first blog smellsliket(w)eenspirit, and fun stuff like games and quizzes for Team Snark players. Please join me there in the new year.

But for now, I want to sign off by thanking everyone who made this first year as a published writer so special (and even possible):

*my parents for raising me in a house filled with books (true confession: I faked being sick at least once so I could stay home, lie in your bed, and stare at all the titles on the shelves)

*my husband and kids for being proud of and patient with me and my often distracted focus

*my publisher, editors, and especially Mandy Schoen for thinking that this Snark  book could even be a thing

*my friends who were so genuinely excited for me, especially those who bid to be characters in the Boston Strong/One Fund Boston auction and Kelly Haggard Olson for making the Snark necklace that helped raise money for lymphoma/leukemia research

*and last, but never least in my heart, everyone who read the books and especially those of you who took the time to post a review on a blog, Amazon, or Goodreads. You’ll never know how much this means to me.

See you next year!

120px-Black_and_white_line_art_drawing_of_swainson_hawk_bird_in_flight

 

One response to “The fledgling takes flight: my first year as a “real” writer

  1. Rachel Schieffelbein says:

    Congratulations on an awesome year, Stephanie! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

