World's Oldest Fledgling

The blog of Stephanie Wardrop, Y A Author

A Tempting TEMPERING

on September 18, 2013

WIP IT  WEREWOLF WEDNESDAY

1174388_351064998359976_22406724_n ADRIANNE JAMES’ THE TEMPERING RELEASED LAST WEEK AND ALREADY PEOPLE ARE TALKING ABOUT THIS EXCITING TALE OF LOVE, BETRAYAL,RIVALRY, AND WEREWOLVES.

I got to talk to the heroine of this new series, MacKenzie Duncan, and while she was careful not to reveal any of the plot, she did provide some fascinating insight into (were)wolf culture:

So, Mackenzie, thanks for talking to me! I can honestly say that I have never sat down with a werewolf before. But I bet you get that a lot.

Unfortunately, yes. Most people think that Werewolves are just myth. Hell, so did I until a few months ago.
 F810_blog

My son is actually very interested in wolves and wolf “culture” and we’ve been to wolf preserves and conservation places.  They have a fascinating social structure. Is the werewolf structure similar to wolf structure, with alphas and all of that stuff?
Most wolves are in packs. The packs have a leader and apparently they have a hierarchy. They tend to keep those politics to them self for a while. Secretive group. *shakes head in irritation*
 
Werewolf structure also seems to have an extra hierarchy, the whole “bitten” versus “born” thing. Could you explain that a little?
Gah! Where do I start. Bittens seem to be second class. We have to be baby sat on full moons, we can’t hold any real position in the pack, and we can’t be the mate of a Born. Born wolves apparently are better than bitten. Whatever.
Is there anything you miss from your old, human life?
I miss being normal. I miss not turning into a blood thirsty beast. I miss sitting in my tiny apartment working on the hundreth paper of the night. But most of all I miss being in complete and total ignorant bliss about this whole damn thing.
What’s best about this new life?
Well, I found some really great people. Some really bad ones too, but there have been moments where I have been happier than I ever was before.
Finally, I have to ask – are you Team Jacob? How do you feel about Twilight’s depiction of werewolf life?
Considering they would be considered BORN werewolves, with complete control and memory of their time as fur balls, I would say I was sorta jealous. As to if I’m Team Jacob? Well just the thought of being close to a vampire gives me the chills, so yeah, Team Jacob all the way. Although…he could do way better than Bella or her offspring.   images-3
Thanks so much for talking to me! I can’t wait to get started on the series.
You can get started, too by buying The Tempering at Amazon or Smashwords or Barnes and Noble.
Leave a Reply

