World's Oldest Fledgling

The blog of Stephanie Wardrop, Y A Author

Teaser Tuesday: The “What’s in the Closet?” Contest

on September 10, 2013

PRIDE AND PREP SCHOOL, the third installment in the SNARK AND CIRCUMSTANCE series, releases next month.

For those of you who have been with Snark from the beginning, I’ll be posting little teases to get you ready. And if you’re new to the world of Snark, I’ll get you caught up and, hopefully, ready  Image  to buy a ticket for the ride.

Snark and Circumstance is a YA contemporary version of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. In a previous post, I gave a brief overview of the parallels between the two texts so far. (But if you’re no Austen fan, fear not — the series of novellas stands on its own, too).

(If you are an Austen fan, then here’s a little something extra for you:

Image

One of the most vivid parts of P&P for me was Elizabeth Bennett’s visit to Pemberley, Mr. Darcy’s grand estate, because I could imagine how excruciating it would be to be caught by the owner taking a tour of his beautiful home and grounds, especially if you were now at least a little bit in love with that man but were pretty sure that while he had once “esteemed” you, he was pretty sick of all your snarky crap.  Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad if he showed up after stumbling out of a lake looking like this Image but in actuality I’d probably be even more mortified if that happened.

In PRIDE AND PREP SCHOOL, Georgia agrees to accompany her mom on a tour of historic homes because (1) she is dying to find out more about Michael (she’s crushing pretty hard now) and (2) she’s sure Michael won’t be there. So she decides to do a little snooping:

Suddenly a force greater than my common sense—which, I’ll admit, has been pretty faulty lately, propels me—and I find myself creeping up the long staircase to the forbidden second floor. 

         I need to see Michael’s room. 

          I need to find out if he is a secret slob, or if there’s even more interesting evidence of whom he is up there.  I’m not expecting to find anything big, like a literal skeleton in his closet.  But I am going to find it, whatever it is. And I will know once and for all who he is.

      I make it to the landing when I hear a burst of barking below me and I freeze.

      Someone has let a dog in. 

      Which means that some member of the Endicott family is actually in the house.

      Which means that one of Michael’s parents is about to catch me snooping.

You’ll have to read to see what happens, but I can tell you that what she discovers there is a pretty shocking.

I won’t say what, exactly, but here are some shocking things you could find while snooping around your crush’s house:

Image  Mrs. Bates

Image fishnet tight in his size

or evidence of devil worship.

Image

So what do YOU think Georgia finds in Michael’s house? (Hint: It is way nicer than any of these creepy things). The most entertaining guess wins a copy of PRIDE AND PREP SCHOOL!

Leave a comment here, on my Facebook page, or tweet me at s_wardrop. Good luck, good snark, and good reading.

What I’m reading now:

Image

Leave a Reply

