World's Oldest Fledgling

The blog of Stephanie Wardrop, Y A Author

Get Your Gargoyle On: A Review of LOUISE GORNALL’S IN STONE

on July 9, 2013

Image I’ve always liked gargoyles, so when I heard that there was a YA romance out there about a human(ish) gargoyle, I knew I had to read it. (In fact, I had the main characters from IN STONE meet Georgia and Michael from SNARK, which you can read here). And if you read that post, you’ll know that Jack is a pretty sweet gargoyle boy. Blond, silver-eyed, charming – I’m pretty sure my daughter would see all kinds of Niall Horan in him. Image But what makes Jack more intriguing than Niall Horan, with all apologies to my daughter, is that he has a sad and mysterious past that I look forward to hearing about in sequels. (I’ll just say here that it involves Purgatory. And a way out). Plus he’s a GARGOYLE, which means he can fly and scale buildings like a gecko and he has a tail. Oh, and he’s about to save the world from destruction, with the help of human(ish) Beau Bailey. Beau’s a trickier character and Gornall does a nice job with her. She’s snarky and not entirely likable, but there’s a reason for that, which I won’t even tell you because you have to find out for yourself.  Let’s just say that the last three chapters are almost too hectic in their emotional switches and revelations. You won’t want to miss them.

There’s suspense throughout as they team up in small town America, and then Bulgaria, and then . . .Wait. I don’t want to spoil it.  But there’s fighting and tension and narrow escapes enough for anyone who can’t wait for the release of the third installment of the DIVERGENT series.

So check out IN STONE from Entranced at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Goodreads. It’s a great summer read.

Leave a Reply

