World's Oldest Fledgling

The blog of Stephanie Wardrop, Y A Author

Rachel Schieffelbein on Secondary Characters

on June 11, 2013
Secondary CharactersToday I get to host a Swoon sister on our YA Summer of Love Blog Tour.  It’s Rachel Schieffelbein author of Secondary Characters!  I love inspiration stories and hearing how authors come up with their ideas, so I’ll let Rachel tell you about how this YA romance was born.
                                                   .Unknown-3
Thanks for having me today, Stephanie!
I’m going to talk a little about how I got the inspiration for Secondary Characters, my novella with Swoon Romance.
Our local theater, which I’m on the board for, was doing a Broadway review show.
Two girls sang a song I’d never heard before, from a show I’d never heard of.
The song was” Secondary Characters”. It’s about two girls who find themselves on stage without the leads and decide to take advantage of the moment.
When I went home I started thinking about secondary characters.
The best friend, the goofy sidekick.
I wondered what it would be like to feel like a secondary character in your own life.
That’s where I got the idea for Mabel.
Her best friend is the ‘it’ girl in high school,
and Mabel is fine with being the funny best friend.
Or at least she thinks she is, until she realizes she wants more.
Secondary Characters song Click here to see it!
I think a lot of people can relate to feeling like a secondary character.
Many of us have felt that way at some point or another,
especially as teens, when we’re still trying to figure out exactly where our place is in the world.
I hope people sympathize with Mabel
as she struggles to find her place in the spotlight.
You can find Secondary Characters on GoodreadsB&N, and Amazon.
And you can find me on my blog. 🙂
Thanks so much, again, Stephanie!
Buy Secondary Characters here on Amazon.  You’ll be glad you did.
Leave a Reply

